WHS Robotics teams competed in the KC East League tournament this past Saturday at Staley High School. Congratulations to FTC Team 9849, The Small Fries, our original after-school team, for advancing to the State Tournament on March 2nd at Missouri S&T in Rolla!!!

The team earned the Engineering Design Award for their robot design as well as being 2nd Runner Up for the Inspire Award, the highest honor a team can earn at the competition and the award that advanced them to State. Mariah Penniman, Scott Swainston, Grant Fitterer, Charles Harris, and Julian Strickland were the main contributors to this team.

FTC Team 18463, Team Rocinante and FTC Team 18464, Team Serenity gave valiant efforts but did not receive any judged awards or advance to finals. Team Serenity, whose major contributors were George Dietz and Mack Young really deserve recognition for their exceptional efforts to constantly evolve their robot build. Brayden Sederburg was the driver on Team Rocinante and did a superior job scoring game pieces.